Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is Shah Rukh Khan-co-owned Indian Premier League (IPL) team that is based in Kolkata

Kolkata Knight Riders

The Indian Premier League franchise cricket team for Kolkata is called Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). KKR was founded in 24th January, 2008. Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla, and her husband Jay Mehta are the franchise's owners. At the renowned Eden Gardens stadium, the Knight Riders compete.

The team initially qualified for the IPL playoffs in 2011, and as a result of its affiliation with famous owners, it has grown tremendously popular. By defeating Chennai Super Kings in the IPL final, they won the title in 2012. In 2014, they defeated Kings XI Punjab and accomplished the same feat.

Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re (We will perform, fight, and win!) is the team's official motto, while purple and gold are its official team colours.


Forbes estimates the Kolkata Knight Riders will be worth $1.1 billion in 2022.

Home Ground

Eden Gardens serves as the Knight Riders' home field. The Cricket Association of Bengal had the largest cricket venue in India, which could accommodate more than 90,000 spectators. The stadium's capacity was reduced to about 68,000 as a result of renovations made in 2011 to bring it up to the International Cricket Council's specifications for the 2011 Cricket World Cup. A new clubhouse and players' facilities, an upgrade to the exterior wall, a new metal skin covering the current roof structure, and other infrastructure upgrades are all part of the stadium's renovation. Two of the team's home games in 2013 were held at Ranchi's JSCA International Cricket Stadium.

Kit Manufacturers and Sponsors


The franchise was captained by Sourav Ganguly, a former captain of the Indian cricket team, in the 2008 and 2010 seasons. In the interim, Brendon McCullum served as the team's leader. Before the 2011 season, both captains were let go. Angelo Mathews, David Hussey, Mohammad Hafeez, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Chris Gayle, Ricky Ponting, Brad Hodge, Salman Butt, and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha were all-rounders on the previous squad. Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar, Ishant Sharma, Ashok Dinda, Ajit Agarkar, and Murali Karthik were the key bowlers. In late 2008, Australian spinners Ajantha Mendis and Charl Langeveldt, as well as the batsman Brad Hodge, were purchased outside of the IPL auction.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post